Getting my grump on – Dan v “innovation” and Gen Y’s

OK it’s been a while since I’ve blogged, a month or so it seems.  Time flies when you’re flat out huh?

So after mentally recovering from Phil’s #SOSU12, it’s time to come up for air and maybe vent a little of steam.

I’m normally a positive person, but today, I think it’s time to talk about some things that really annoy me.

I”m nor sure if I’ve written about this before, if I have, it’ll be interesting to see if my themes/thinking have changed or evolved.

Let’s talk about abused terms and theory’s in today’s market.

The biggest one I see is “INNOVATION”

Seriously, “Innovation” is, according to Wikipedia “Innovation is the development of new customer value through solutions that meet new needs, unarticulated needs, or old customer and market needs in new ways.”

The Key word to me here is NEW.  I’ve seen too many things popping up in the Recruitment sphere as “Innovative” which are seriously just re-hashes or pure rip off’s of things others have done before.  You may not think we notice, but we do.  Especially Recruitment and Social media junkies such as myself.

My biggest case in point at the moment is Recruitment marketing via videos, cartoon etc.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a great video campaign, and really see the value, have even done a few tacky ones myself and will probably do so again.  However, PWCs video in Singapore for fresh grads was touted in places as innovative.  I mean yeah it was cringe worthy, it was catchy, it showed another side of a company not known for it’s fun and personality, and well now I cannot hear the attached song and not think “PWC”.  So in that respect it worked, and it did go viral and get lots of commentary, so it is really great work.  But seriously…. was it innovative? was it new and ground breaking? NO, not at all.  Pa-lease!  Give me something new, and pundits calling this type of thing “innovative” check out the meaning of it first.

Something as simple as this, well, this is what I call innovation… hats off to Volkswagon for this bit of Creative awesomeness

In short, to quote the great AFL coach Dennis Pagan “Don’t piss down my back and tell me it’s raining”

Gen Y’s

Again, not that I have anything against this generation, but surely this is old news now? Time marches on, and this generation are now working stiffs like the rest of us.  They’ve been in the workforce for a number of years now.  Stop this talk of what it takes to attract, retain and interest this generation.  I’m over it!  I saw the other day someone tweeted (don’t ask me to find the tweet please) the “important” fact that by 2020 40% of the workforce will be Gen Ys.  Woo hoo… so what?  Do we really think that the idealism they entered the workforce with will still be intrinsic within them when the realities of kids, schooling, mortgage, trying to keep a job, rise prices of everything seriously kick in?  I’ve never understood how the things stated as key/core beliefs needed to show in your company were specifically to Gen Ys?  Work/life balance, making a difference to the world, community, (rapid) career growth, consistent and timely feedback,mentors etc etc.  Wouldn’t everyone want this stuff? I know I do.  But reality doesn’t always reflect what I want! As those wise men of the Rolling Stones sang “You can’t always get what you want”  Maybe all this genuflection to the Gen Y’s is more a commentary on those of us who may be a little more experienced who hate to say “no” to people or our kids?  Were they given too much, told how good they were too much when they were young or is this all just a beat up by those who want their 15 minutes of fame and need something to talk about on the social blogs and need an excuse to charge Corporates $100 an hour for their services in solving this “problem”

Sorry, I don’t get it.  Maybe it’s just the bitter, ignored Gen X in me coming out (PS Gen X sounds better!)

That’ll do for today’s rant.  So please, if talking innovation, please make it innovative (I love innovation) and please stop beating that expired equine of Generational needs, I’m over it!

Posted on September 7, 2012, in Gen Y. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

